top of page

HOU Sealed League - Opening Tournament


Howdy do, Net friends! It's league time again here at Gathering Information. If you've followed my writing for a while, you may have noticed that I sort of stopped posting near the middle of the Amonkhet league. To be honest, I just sort of ran out of things to say. "I'm losing a lot and I'm not sure why" doesn't stay interesting for very long, and between that and getting busy with other projects, I kind of let things slide. This time, though, I have a plan. Even if things go south, I think I've figured out how to keep things fresh. As always, if anyone out there has any feedback, let me know. Our in store league has been going for a few years now, and it's one of my favourite ways to play Magic. We start with an opening Sealed tournament, and then get to add a pack and make trades to improve our decks over the following six weeks. Now that all the Preamble is out of the way, let's check out my deck! If you want to see a breakdown of the whole pool, feel free to check out our YouTube channel, here.

So, I think it's an open secret at this point that the sealed format for Hour of Devastation very easily supports an aggressive strategy, simply due to the abundance of excellent two drops. I knew people would still want to play their fun stuff, so I decided to try to just be as fast as possible, and it really seemed to pay off.

I have never yet played a Honed Khopesh, but since I was playing 8 two drops, and a pair of 1 drops, it seemed like the time to try it out.

I also really wanted to try the Frilled Sandwalla, and I can say that equipping one with the other is a good use of mana, and makes a good threat. Between my aggressive curve and my wealth of removal, I managed to go 4-0 during the opening tournament, which, due to a pair down, put me in second place right out of the gate. It felt good to be winning, but based on what I saw, the sheerly aggressive plan won't keep me on top for very long, so after I open my first pack, we'll see if I can rebuild into something with a better long game. Tune in next week, -Step.


Check out our Podcast!
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page